Zanu-PF wins Mwenenzi East uncontested

ZANU PF has won the Mwenenzi East constituency uncontested after its candidate Joshua Moyo was the only person who submitted papers to stand in the by-elections slated for September 19.

Zanu PF political commissar, Savour Kasukuwere told that Moyo, who was elected to represent the party last week, was duly declared the MP for the constituency as he had no challenger to force by-elections.

The seat fell vacant after former provincial minister Kudakwashe Bhasikiti, who the MP for the area, was kicked out of the party on allegations of working with former vice president Joice Mujuru in the alleged plot to oust President Robert Mugabe.

However  Zanu-PF’s aspiring MP  for Mashonaland Central Lawrence Katsiru,  will not be so lucky as three more candidates  have submitted their papers with the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission,though none of the candidates has a known political history.

Just like Katsiru, Karoro too will face three other candidates and still none has an upper edge over the Zanu PF candidates-leaving him with greater chances to land the seat ahead of his competitors.

The National Constitutional Assembly led by Law professor Lovemore Madhuku and Transform Zimbabwe have both fielded candidates in Mbare and Marondera Central to challenge Zanu PF.

Marondera Central was previously held by former Zanu PF provincial chair, Ray Kaukonde while David Butao was the MP for Mbire.

All MDCs continued to boycott the polls as they did not field candidates in both constituencies. – New