Zimbabwe Warriors final lineup for Guinea AFCon qualifier match announced

ZIMBABWE ‘s national team coach Kallisto Pasuwa called up 21 players, keeping most of the team that took part in the Warriors’s successful qualification for next year’s tourney in Gabon.

Though playmaker and Mamelodi Sundowns forward Khama Billiat and Caps United’s Hardlife Zvirekwi are the notable omissions from the squad announced last week.

Zvirekwi is suspended for the ultimate clash while Billiat was left out due to his busy schedule with Sundowns in the Orange CAF Champions, where they have reached the last four.

“We have decided to let Khama Billiat rest because he has been busy with his club’s African commitments. We are looking to carry on with what we started in the qualifiers.

“This match is still important to the team because we are going to use it as a yardstick to measure our progress as a unit and our preparedness for the Gabon AFCON finals.

“That is why only Khama Billiat, whom we thought might have fatigue issues is the only regular player intentionally left out of the squad. We want to maintain our unbeaten record also” said Pasuwa.

Godknows Murwira and Nelson Chadya are the only new faces drafted in by the technical team.

The Gabon bound Warriors, unbeaten in five games sit comfortably at the top of the standings with 11 points, three more than Swaziland. Guinea has five points and Malawi in that order with two points.

Full squad
Goalkeepers: Tatenda Mkuruva (Dynamos), Donovan Bernard (How Mine), Nelson Chadya (Ngezi Platinum)
Defenders: Blessing Moyo (Maritzburg United), Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn), Onismor Bhasera (Supersport), Costa Nhamoinesu (Sparta Prague, Czech Republic), Godknows Murwira (Dynamos), Lawrence Mhlanga (Chicken Inn)

Midfielders: Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs), Marvellous Nakamba (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Marshall Mudehwe (FC Platinum), Tafadzwa Kutinyu (Chicken Inn)

Forwards: Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang, China), Knowledge Musona (KV Oostende, Belgium), Cuthbert Malajila (Bidvest Wits), Evans Rusike (Maritzburg), Mathew Rusike (Helsingborgs IF, Sweden). – ANA