zimsinsa.com columnist,Mabhena nominated for Zim Achievers Award 2016

zimsinsa.com columnist,Mabhena nominated for Zim Achievers Award 2016

ZIMSINSA.com columnist, Ngqabutho Nicholas Mabhena has been nominated as one of the nominees of the 2016 South African edition of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards have been announced and the winners will be unveiled at a gala dinner scheduled for the 10th of December in Sandton.

Mabhena has been nominated in the Community Champions category for his work in helping the Zimbabwean community.

“We at zimsinsa.com would like to congratulate Cde Mabhena for helping the Zimbabwean community particularly in the area of the ZSP permits. His column has been invaluable in helping answer people’s questions concerning the process, which is quite a contentious issue. We are proud to be associated with such a true son of the soil ” says zimsinsa.com editor Patience Rusere.

“In addition to helping with permits Mabhena was quite instrumental in helping with community affairs such as the burial and memorial of the three illegal Zimbabwean miners that died while working at a disused mine by uniting the Zimbabwe community by being there during the whole week they were trapped, helping with their burial and subsequently helping raising money for their repatriation,” adds Rusere

Organisers of the high profile event announced over 65 nominees across 16 categories last Friday in Johannesburg and unvieled Steward Bank as one of the sponsors for the forthcoming edition.

Louis Charema, ZAA International Executive says the committee were delighted to welcome Steward Bank on board as an official partner for the South African edition, weeks after it was announced that they would sponsor the US edition.

Charema added that the commercial bank’s support for the respective franchises would only strengthen an already growing relationship with the Zimbabwean community on an International spectrum Steward Bank, who have continued to expand their products and services worldwide, said they were delighted to be partnering with Zim Achievers South Africa.

Chief Executive Officer, Lance Mambondiani says they were proud to be associated with the awards and that he was looking forward to both the South African and US editions taking place in November and December.

“ZAA is a worthy cause and I applaud the organisers for the initiative, and the Zimbabwean mission in South Africa for supporting it,” says Mambondiani.

Voting starts today 1 November until  5 December. Click here to vote.

Lawrence Dube, Organising Director for ZAA SA said the awards show has firmly established itself in South Africa and that every year the nominee list keeps getting better.

“There are so many Zimbabweans who are flying the Zimbabwean flag high in the Rainbow nation everyday, and this annual occasion gives us the opportunity just to say, that we recognise what you are doing and we celebrate you.

The awards are not only about celebrating the success stories of the nominees and winners but are a celebration of individuals that on a day to day basis are influencing people across the world,” he added.

Tickets are now on sale and, both voting and ticket purchases can be done at www.zimachievers.com/sa.

The Zimbabwe Achievers Awards, which were firstt introduced in the UK in 2010 have  become a highlight on the community calendar internationally, bringing together business leaders and innovators from all sectors to celebrate the successes and achievements of people of Zimbabwean heritage living in the UK, South Africa and the United States.

There are also plans for expansion to other countries next year. – additional reporting Patience Rusere


The 2016 Nominees are:
Business of the year

N7 Farmers
• Masiwela Events
• ZimCon-Transport company
• Misec
• Blue Hills College –Midrand

Business Leaders of the Year
• Prof Tawana Kuphe
• Bongani Ngqwababa
• July Moyo
• Ralf Mupita
Female Entrepreneur of the year
• Judy Goddard-Masiwela
• Sophia Michelle Chitemere
• Rina Broomberg
• Monalisa Zwambila
• Samantha N. Ngcolomba

Male Entrepreneur
• Sabelo Sibanda
• Nyasha Mudzingwa
• Faraimose Kutadzaushe
• DJ Kumbula
• Godfrey Madanhure

Professional of the year
• July Ndlovu
• Mavis Ureke
• McLean Sibanda
• Thabani Ndlovu
Community Champion of the year
• Ngungi Vere
• Anorld Tsunga
• Ngqabutho Nicholas Mabhena
• Tendai Ndoro
• Janet Munakamwe

Community Organisation of the year
• Fair Funeral Parlour
• Zim Solidarity Network
• Zim Community SA
Academic Excellence of the year

• DR Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe
• Prof Miracle Benhura
• Associate Professor Mucha Musemwa
• Prof Amos Saurombe
• Prof Caroline Ncube

Media Personality of the Year
• Dan Nicholl
• Oliver ” NaJeska” Keith Siamuloboka
• Chichie Mhende
• Sunu Gonera
• Rangarirayi Chikwene

People’s Choice Award
• Mothusi Madlela Ndlovu
• Baba Tencen
• Chichie Mhende
• Genius “Ginimbi” Kadungure
• Anorld Chirisa
Personality of the Year
• Julius Shamhu
• T-Mula
• Tapfuma Makina
• Evangelista Mwatse
• Vimbai Musvaburi
• Genius “Ginimbi” Kadungure

Music Artist/Group of the Year
• Crimson Blue
• Berita Khumalo
• Nadia Nakai
• Jeremy Oliver
• Gemma Griffiths
Sports Personality of the Year
• Cuthbert Malajila
• Eli Syman
• Khama Billiat
• Willard Katsande
• Tendai Ndoro
Young Achiever of the Year
• Panashe Chigumadzi
• Eli Synman
• DR Musawenkosi Donia Saurombe-
• Tinashe Chikwanda
• Tashinga Mutakwa

  1. […] Masike is this year’s main attraction for the third edition of the South African version of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA), 2016 taking place at Maslow Hotel in Sandton, Johannesburg on the 10th of […]

  2. By Ndoro leads in SA Golden Boot race - Zims In Sa on Dec 28, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    […] Without him, Pirates’ floundering season would have been a whole lot more dire – all but three of the club’s league goals have been scored by Ndoro, who was a Zimbabwe Achievers Awards SA 2016 nominee for Sports Personality. […]

  3. […] Without him, Pirates’ floundering season would have been a whole lot more dire – all but three of the club’s league goals have been scored by Ndoro, who was a Zimbabwe Achievers Awards SA 2016 nominee for Sports Personality. […]

Comments are closed.